Forget what I promised. . .

ResizedStellaWhen I started this blog, a friend advised me, “Keep it short,” and stay on one specific topic. I took half of her advice.

I set out to write here what I wanted and when I wanted, but I forgot doing so isn’t always my choice.  There are days when I can’t write.  The words aren’t in my brain.  Even though I worked for more than three decades as a writer, I can’t remember all the rules of grammar and punctuation.  I have a hard time identifying errors or typos while I’m writing.  Sometimes it takes days for me to recognize them.  That’s a small part of what happens when you have Lyme Disease.

What I didn’t say in my short bio is that I have “late stage” Lyme Disease, also known as stage three.  I seldom say that out loud.  Even thinking the term makes me cringe, because no one has named a fourth stage.

I’m fairly certain, however, I’m not on my way out since I entered this point of the disease probably 15 or more years before my diagnosis in spring 2012.  Back in the late 1990s, I was diagnosed as having Adult Onset Type One Diabetes and hypothyroidism. Soon after came the swelling of my brainstem that caused me to need a cane to walk. (Although I couldn’t walk on my own, I could stand, and I could run.  So I kept playing doubles tennis, staggering as I served.  Often aces in our mid-level group. )  After six months of reeling around town like a drunk, a wonderful physical therapist taught me to retrain another part of my brain to compensate for this dysequallibrium.

Okay, enough, blah, blah, blah.  I don’t intend for this to be a blog about Lyme Disease or Diabetes, but sometime I won’t be able to avoid the topic.  Especially since there are days like those between this post and the last when I started another treatment that led to a temporary cob-webbing of my brain.  Again.  And in these instances, I will talk about what’s up. Meanwhile, I advise all of you interested in the details of dealing with Lyme and its treatments to follow Lymelyfe.wordpress.com.  The young woman writing that blog is extraordinary in her prose skills and her endurance for the most difficult of treatments.

So, after my last post I started the beginning of a Reishi extract treatment which will increase during the next two weeks.  Today is the first day where I didn’t retreat to my bed for at least two hours with chills that three layers of clothes and a quilt couldn’t ease.  Today has been full of doing, and for that I’m both happy and grateful.

So please bear with me on these days.  I have others during which I experience extraordinary moments that I’d like to tell you about.

By the way, that handsome dog you see?  That’s my muse, Stella.  The other two, Frankie and Gracie, could care less about writing.

6 thoughts on “Forget what I promised. . .

  1. tina

    I have a suggestion: Change ‘bare’ to ‘bear’ because as much as I love you, I’m just not ready to take it to that level.
    I’m glad you’ve decided to write in spite of those struggles. And to bare your soul, if not your bottom.

    Reply
  2. carolesbooktalk

    This is hard, Terri – my brother also has late-stage Lyme, diagnosed over fifteen years ago, and he’s tried everything. He goes in and out of good/bad days, just like you. I will hold you in my thoughts, and in whatever good energy I can send your way

    Reply
  3. Prilla Smith Brackett

    Wow! I’m really sorry about the Lyme disease. It sounds very debilitating. I look forward to seeing your blog posts, and to your 2012 novel!! xoxo Prilla

    Reply

Leave a Reply

