No Chat About Cats Today. I’ve Got A Book To Flack!

IMG_0141I had in mind to write about the frenzy over cat this and that, especially videos.  Then, while studying how to promote an e-book, I read that an author is supposed to blog about his novel and post comments on social networks as the book takes shape and makes its way into the market place. Sigh.  I learn this in the last month of a writing project that has taken years.  As most everyone who knows me will attest, I have no gift for timing, except on the dance floor.

So here goes.

Next month, as long as that wicked non-planet Pluto and his two moons are not hanging over my head, Cooley & Rose will be published as an e-book that will be compatible with all makes of readers, plus I-Phones, Droids and computers.

I’ve yet to write the zingy blurb for the distributors to use as a sales tool, but this novel, set in South Norfolk, VA during the summer of 1948 is about a married couple who part ways after their love sours.  Rose takes off to start a new life in Hollywood; her husband, Cooley, goes to visit his girlfriend, LaBelle.   Erle Stanley Gardner, Bob Hope, Louis Prima and a young Keely Smith make cameo appearances, as do an Indian preacher and thieves posing as rich Southern Baptists.  But more on that at another time.

For now, I offer the following:

From Janet Peery, National Book award nominee:

“This eminently readable story is a romp in the tradition of Crazy in Alabama and a love story as rewarding as Cold Sassy Tree.

Cooley & Rose is imbued with place and period but never at the expense of story.  As these original and unforgettable characters explore the vagaries of love and the boundaries of connection, they leave their marks on the reader’s imagination, providing the best that can be asked of a good book; a feeling that we’ve encountered people we thought we knew but now more fully understand, the sense that – like family, whether near or far – they’ll stay with us, ours for life.

“Terry is a gifted storyteller with an eye for detail, an ear for the rhythms of what’s said as well as what’s unsaid,  and a heart for character depth.  I hope you’ll give her a read.”

From Bob Shacochis, National Book Award winner:

“I loved reading Terry Perrel’s first novel, Cooley & Rose. And feel that it’s a wonderful . . .work of comic Southern literature.  And it goes without saying that Terry is a terrific writer.”

A third author, who read Cooley & Rose in a shorter form, said it has “echoes of Anne Tyler, Flannery O’Connor and Eudora Welty.”  I told this to my agent before he died last year, and he thought the comparison was a bit over the top. Ha!  What an understatement.

By the way, the photo at the top of the page?  That’s my writing shed that my husband, one of my brothers, a few of our friends and I built.  That’s where I work and nap and, sometimes, hide out.

UPDATE: Cooley & Rose is available as a paperback from Amazon and as an e-book everywhere!

14 thoughts on “No Chat About Cats Today. I’ve Got A Book To Flack!

    1. Terry Perrel Post author

      Thanks, Angela. I’m think I need to have a wine evening for all the amazing women I know on the shack porch, its insides and nearby environs. I do have to include my muse, an Australian cattle dog mix who thinks she’s the queen and inspiration of everything. The other two dogs could care less. The cat, Mr. Burt Reynolds, however, thinks he’s the center of the universe. More on him when I talk cat videos.
      By the way, that Patrone bottle you gave me? It has been the centerpiece of the kitchen during these months of dried hydrangeas, evergreens, and berry bushes. I love it more than any of the many bottles and vase that I’ve stored here and there.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

